Bel Pre Recreational Association, Inc. – Board of Trustees and Town Hall Meeting December 5, 2023

1. Call to Order

• Vice President Jay Staggs called the meeting to order at 7:38 PM.

2. Roll Call

- Claire Pak took attendance.
- Jay Staggs (Vice President), Claire Pak (Secretary), Andy Popadich, Christine Tyler Pell, Rod Oo, and Ted Bechtol were present at roll call. President Karen Purdy and Board member Charlie Meininger were absent. Treasurer Dave Pullen arrived at 7:43 PM.
- Association members Elliot Chabot (Governing Documents Committee Chair),
 Chris Swan (Recreation and Entertainment Committee Chair), Patrick Welteroth
 (former Board member), Karen Trebon, and Robin Anthony Kouyate, were also in attendance.

3. Approval of Agenda

- Claire Pak offered a motion to approve the agenda. Ted Bechtol seconded.
- Staggs, Pullen, Pak, Popadich, Oo, Bechtol, and Pell voted in favor. None were opposed. The agenda was approved.

4. Conflict of Interest Disclosure

- O Jay Staggs read the standard request for COI disclosures: Based on the agenda just approved, or any new business that a Trustee intends to raise at this meeting, does any member perceive the need, or intend, to declare a conflict of interest, as that term is defined in the BPRA Conflict of Interest Policy, with any item proposed for discussion or decision at this meeting?
- No conflicts were disclosed.

5. Statements by Association Members

 Jay Staggs opened the floor for statements by Association members. No statements were made.

6. Approval of Minutes

 Christine Tyler Pell offered a motion to approve the minutes of the November 7 and November 20 Board meetings. Andy Popadich seconded. Staggs, Pullen, Pak, Popadich, Oo, Bechtol, and Pell voted in favor. None were opposed. The minutes of the November 7 and November 20 meetings were approved.

7. BPRA Elections

- Board of Trustees election results. Jay Staggs reported that in accordance with § 405(h) of the BPRA Plan of Organization, the ballots were counted and the results were posted on the community website. Charlie Meininger and Christine Tyler Pell were elected to their first terms, and Claire Pak was re-elected for a second term. Additionally, the bylaw amendment was approved.
 - i. Elliot Chabot asked Dave to announce the vote counts. Dave said that the full results, including the individual vote counts, are published on the website and posted to the Civic Association listserv.
- Election of Officers. Claire Pak explained that only Board members may serve as President or Vice President, but any member of the Association may serve as Treasurer or Secretary.
 - Jay opened the floor for nominations for President. Claire Pak and Dave Pullen nominated Karen Purdy. With no further nominations for President, Jay moved that Karen be elected by acclamation. Staggs, Pullen, Pak, Popadich, Oo, Bechtol, and Pell voted in favor. None were opposed, and Karen Purdy was elected President.
 - ii. Jay opened the floor for nominations for Vice President. Dave Pullen and Andy Popadich nominated Jay Staggs. With no further nominations for Vice President, Claire Pak moved that Jay be elected by acclamation. Dave Pullen seconded. Staggs, Pullen, Pak, Popadich, Oo, Bechtol, and Pell voted in favor. None were opposed, and Jay Staggs was elected Vice President.
 - iii. Jay opened the floor for nominations for Secretary. Dave Pullen nominated Claire Pak. With no further nominations for Secretary, Jay moved that Claire be elected by acclamation. Dave Pullen seconded. Jay opened the floor for nominations for Secretary. Staggs, Pullen, Popadich, Oo, Bechtol, and Pell voted in favor. Pak abstained. None were opposed, and Claire Pak was elected Secretary.
 - iv. Jay opened the floor for nominations for Treasurer. Claire Pak and Ted Bechtol nominated Dave Pullen. With no further nominations for Treasurer, Jay moved that Dave be elected by acclamation. Ted Bechtol seconded. Staggs, Pullen, Pak, Popadich, Oo, Bechtol, and Pell voted in favor. None were opposed, and Dave Pullen was elected Treasurer.

8. New Board Member Orientation

- Claire Pak congratulated the new Trustees and explained that all newly elected members of the Board must take the Montgomery County Commission on Common Ownership Communities (CCOC) training required by Montgomery County Code § 10B-17(h) "...within 90 days after being elected or appointed (on or after January 1, 2016) to the governing body for the first time." Claire had previously contacted the new Board members to notify them of this requirement and to provide instructions.
- 9. Budget and Finance. This topic is deferred until the January meeting, in the interest of time, with the exception of two invoices payment due by January 1.
 - eSoft Planner, \$900, and Mid-Atlantic Asphalt (tennis court extended warranty)
 \$2920.72. Ted Bechtol moved to approve these payments. Claire Pak seconded.
 Pullen, Pak, Popadich, Oo, Bechtol, Meininger, and Pell voted in favor. None were opposed, and the payments were approved.
- 10. Committee Reports. No discussion or questions on reports.
- 11. Other Business. None.
- 12. Adjournment
 - The meeting adjourned at 7:54 PM. All Board members entered the Town Hall Zoom meeting.
 - Next meeting: January 4, 2024, 7:30 PM, via Zoom.